Thanksgiving with the 2021 National Heritage Fellows

It’s that time of year, for gathering with family and friends in thanksgiving, but also to celebrate the National Endowment for the Arts Heritage Fellows. Each year, the NEA recognizes traditional artists for their excellence and contributions to our nation’s heritage. It’s the highest award in the traditional arts. This year’s honorees include Filipino Rondalla musician Tagumpay Mendoza De Leon, Osage ribbon worker and ceramicist Anita Fields, documentary filmmaker and preservationist Tom Davenport, Louisiana’s Winnsboro Easter Rock gospel ensemble, Hill Country blues drummer Cedric Burnside, Mundillo lace weaver Nellie Vera Sanchez, Irish flute and whistle maven Joanie Madden, Chicago tap dancer Reginald “Reggio the Hoofer” McLaughlin, and the Mexican American band from East Los Angeles, Los Lobos. Plus music from prior awardees including Del McCoury, Mavis Staples, Dr. Michael White and John Lee Hooker.

Share This Episode