June 19, 1865 marks the origin of Juneteenth, on Galveston Island. The official celebration began in 1866, commemorating the freedom of African people from settler colonialism, 2 1/2 years after President Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclamation.

Before the passage of the Juneteenth legislation by the House and Senate last week, only four new holidays were added to the national calendar in the past 100 years.

June 17, 2021, President Joe Biden signed the legislation, making Juneteenth the 12th federal holiday. Its the first new federal holiday since Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Day was created in 1983.

Share This Episode