WMM presents Mike McCoy’s Trompe L’oeil + Robert Castillo & The Sextet

Wednesday MidDay Medley
Produced and Hosted by Mark Manning
Wednesday, August 21, 2019

Mike McCoy’s Trompe L’oeil + Robert Castillo & The Sextet

Mark spins New & MidCoastal Releases from: The Sextet (with J.F. Letters, Miki P, & Adee Dancy, Calvin Arsenia, and Jen Harris), OLIVIA FOX, Mike McCoy’s Trompe-l’œil, Ensemble Ibérica, Under The Big Oak Tree, Sleater-Kinney, Mavis Staples with Ben Harper, Oso Oso, Clairo, and Josh Ritter.

At 10:30 Mike McCoy joins us from Austin, Texas to share music from his band Mike McCoy’s Trompe-l’œil new album, Eyein’ Lies. Mike McCoy presents Mike McCoy’s Trompe L’oeil Q & A Jam, on Friday, August 23, at 6:00 PM, at The Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven, 7621 Troost Ave, KCMO. Mike McCoy is best known in Kansas City for his band Cher UK. Mike will be stopping by The Vinyl Underground at 7th Heaven to play a few songs from the new album and maybe even a few Cher UK songs. There may be special guests, stories and fun. KKFI’s DJ Timmy Tilton will also join us for this segment.

At 11:00 Mark welcomes musician & band leader Robert Castillo, who shares new singles from The Sextet‘s upcoming album “Among Friends.” The title of the band’s third release refers to the collaboration of nine other musicians & artists who joined the six members of The Sextet: Joe Tesoro on soprano sax, Max Levy on tenor sax, Trevor Turla on trombone, Forrest Fowler on guitar, Nik Douglas on drums, and Robert Castillo on bass, in the studio to create this new 15 track release. The Sextet play an Album Release Show, Sunday, September 15, at 7:00 PM at recordBar, 1520 Grand Boulevard, KCMO. Joining the band are special guests: Calvin Arsenia, Poet Jen Harris, Jose Faus, Miki P, Eddie Moore, and JF Letters. Jametatone & Blastocyst will open the show. More information at: www.thesextetjazz.com

Show #799

Share This Episode