WMM features Songs of Nina Simone + Sam Platt on Ondist + New & MidCoastal Releases

Wednesday MidDay Medley
Produced and Hosted by Mark Manning
Wednesday, July 8, 2020

Sam Platt talks about Ondist + Nina Songs
+ New & MidCoastal Release

Mark plays more New & MidCoastal Releases from: Blackstarkids, The Black Creatures, Logan Richardson with Kadesh Flow, Lava Dreams, Krystle Warren, Calvin Arsenia, They Call Me Sauce, X.Wilson, Special Interest, Stephonne Singleton, Ondist, Bettye LaVette, Nina Simone, Meshell Ndegeocello, David Bowie, Aretha Franklin, George Jackson, Aimee Mann and Billy Preston.

At 11:00 KC based drummer & producer Sam Platt talks about the new album No Coincidence, from the L.A. band Ondist, with members from Arkansas, New Zealand, and New York. No Coincidence was recorded in Malibu, Dallas, Kansas City, and Las Vegas. Ondist is Corbin Dooley, Maya Coppola, and Nick Poortman. Corbin Dooley asked Sam to put a band together for KC sessions. Corbin flew in producer Nadir Omawale from Detroit and Luke John from Memphis. Recordings took place at Weights & Measures with Duane Trower. The KC band included: Sam Platt on drums, Eddie Moore on keyboards, DeAndre Manning on bass, Jamie Anderson on guitar, and Claire Adams on vocals. Over 20 songs were recorded, 14 originals, 6 covers. More info at www.ondistmusic.com
Show #845

Share This Episode