WMM Spins Songs with Shy Boys + Julia Othmer + Daniel Gum

Wednesday MidDay Medley
Produced and Hosted by Mark Manning
Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Spinning Songs with Shy Boys + Julia Othmer + Daniel Gum

Mark plays New & MidCoastal Releases from: Shy Boys, Krystle Warren & The Crew, Julia Othmer, Daniel Gum, Fullbloods, Koney, The ACBs, The Conquerors, Sylvan Esso, Angélique Kidjo & John Legend, and Jayda G.

At 10:15 Daniel Gum shares information about his new album “Thirteen” released on Manor Records on October 30, 2020. Daniel Gum is a Kansas City based singer-songwriter who has been releasing music since 2017 with EP’s I’m Not Dead and Moon. Daniel has played in Kansas City based groups Pillow and Chloe Jacobson over the last few years. Daniel has taken the last few years to focus on songwriting and producing his new record Thirteen that echoes the likes of Elliott Smith & Andy Shauf. Daniel has also contributing tracks to French Exit’s Black Lives Matter Compilation and Manor Records Keeps The Change Fundraiser Compilation. More info at: www.danielgum.bandcamp.com

At 10:30 Mark talks with singer songwriter Julia Othmer about her new album “Seeds” (Volume 1), to be released Friday, November 13, 2020. “Seeds contains 10 live songs selected from her 30-day Songs of September Project, where Julia performed a different live cover of her favorite songs and broadcast the performance throughout the streaming social media platforms to inspire people to register and vote on November 3. From those songs Julia’s fans democratically selected their favorite tracks to be released together on “Seeds.” Julia Othmer was born in Kansas City, Missouri in 1975. She studied at Columbia University in New York City. She has lived in Boston, Philadelphia, Colorado and currently lives in Los Angeles, California, with her husband James T Lundie who recorded and produced the new record. Julia released her album “Sound,” on April 12, 2019 on Frikin’ Awesome Records. More information at: www.juliaothmer.com

At 11:00 we devote our second hour to hanging out with Shy Boys who released their third album, Talk Loud, on September 25, 2020 on Polyvinyl Records. Shy Boys are brothers Collin Rausch & Kyle Rausch, Konnor Ervin, Kyle Little and Ross Brown. Kyle & Konnor had been band mates in The ACBs. Collin had been playing in various bands including The Abracadabras, and The I’ms with brother Kyle. The three shared a love for 1960s era pop rock and soon started writing their own music. In 2014 they released their self-titled Shy Boys on High Dive Records. Kyle Little and Ross Brown then joined the band and on April 4th, 2018, it was announced that the band had signed to Polyvinyl Record Company and released their 2nd album and Polyvinyl debut, Bell House on August 3, 2018. We’ll feature tracks from, Talk Loud and bands from the Shy Boys tree of music: The ACBs, Full Bloods, The Conquerors, and Koney. More info at www.shyboys.website

Daniel Gum photo by Quinn Hernandez
Shy Boys photo by Barrett Emke

Show #863

Share This Episode