WMM with Maya Coppola + Ebony Tusks + Page 7

Wednesday MidDay Medley
Produced and Hosted by Mark Manning
Wednesday, October 7, 2020

Ebony Tusks + Maya Coppola of Ondist
+ Joe Sears of Page 7

Mark plays New & MidCoastal Releases from: Ebony Tusks, Page 7, Ondist, The Freedom Affair, Krystle Warren & The Crew, True Lions, Fritz Hutchison, The Get Up Kids, The Greeting Committee, Shamir, and Beverly Glenn-Copeland.

At 10:30 we welcome special guest Maya Coppola who is a singer, songwriter, musician and producer with the band Ondist. This year Ondist has release two full length albums, No Coincidence on June 12, and Electricity on August 14, and the single “Die a Little” on October 12, 2020. Corbin Dooley, Nick Poortman, and Maya Coppola are Ondist. With divergent backgrounds rooted in Arkansas, New Zealand, and New York, the trio connected in Los Angeles. Recording in Malibu, Dallas, Kansas City, and Las Vegas brought environmental influences to the center of the Ondist sound, which is united by its cinematic vision of hope. Several of the tracks for both albums were recorded at Weights & Measures with Duane Trower with Sam Platt on drums, Eddie Moore on keyboards, DeAndre Manning on bass, Jamie Anderson on guitar, and Claire Adams on vocals. More info at www.ondistmusic.com

At 11:00 Mark talks with Martinez Hillard and Daniel Smith two of the members of the Lawrence/Topeka, Kansas based hip hop trio, EBONY TUSKS, who join us live in our 90.1 FM studios to share details about their debut full length album, Heal Thyself to be released on High Dive Records on November 6, 2020. The album will be available on limited edition oxblood and bone vinyl as well as standard black vinyl in an amazing gatefold jacket with a full color insert. Intelligent Sound will also be offering the album on cassette. Ebony Tusks is Daniel Smith on DJ & Production, Geese Giesecke on vocals & Production, and Marty Hillard on vocals & Production. More info at: ww.highdiverecords.com

At 11:30 we talk with Joe Sears, lead singer of the Lawrence, Kansas reggae, ska, soul rocksteady band, Page 7. The band was formed in 2014 and also includes: Ryan Hensley, Mike McFarland, Mike Walker, Brad Eldridge, Dan Pem, Chris Leopold and Anthony Case. Page 7 are releasing a new 3-song EP Rise Up, on October 6, 2020. Earlier this year the band released their 7-song EP The Call, on May 26, and the single “Connectivity,” on April 10. More info at: https://page7reggae.wixsite.com

Show #858

Share This Episode